Best Technology Business Award 2019

Best Technology Business Award 2019 780 446 TruckScience

TruckScience was announced winner of the 2019 Best Technology Business Award at the Mayo Business Awards gala event in the McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris, on Friday 15th November!

The Mayo Business Awards

The Mayo Business Awards are a cross-community initiative supported by the Mayo Chambers and other local business organizations, with the backing of the Local Enterprise Office Mayo. The awards aim to reach businesses in every corner of County Mayo, in order to discover the very best in Mayo Business.


With 48 companies shortlisted in 12 categories, there was great excitement in the packed ballroom as the awards ceremony got underway. We were up against it with the other companies shortlisted in the Best Technology Business category, CBE, Skillko and Placemate.   So we were pleasantly surprised and extremely honored to be presented with the Mayo Crystal winner’s trophy for the Best Technology Business 2019. Past winners include wonderful success stories such as Payslip, CBE, WestNet and CloudStrong.

Award Winners

The category winners of the Mayo Business Awards 2019 are:
Payslip – Most Innovative Product / Service Business Award
Ballina Motor Care – Best Retail Premises Award
LS Hair Westport – Best Customer Service Business Award
Lough Lannagh Village – Best Tourism Business Award
MW Design, Print & Signs – Micro Enterprise Business Award
House Of Plates – Best Hospitality Business Award – Under 10 Full Time Staff Equivalent
Foxford Woollen Mills Cafe – Best Hospitality Business Award – Over 10 Full Time Staff Equivalent
Big Red Barn – Manufacturing or Exporter Business Award
TruckScience – Best Technology Business Award
Mellett Electrical – Best Professional Services Award
Connacht Whiskey Company Ltd – Food or Beverage Product Award
OSENG – Best Business Start-Up (Less than 2 years)


The gala awards event was attended by government deputies, Lisa Chambers and Dara Calleary, as well as many local representatives.  Councillor Brendan Mulroy, Chairman of Mayo County Council and Peter Hynes, Chief Executive, Mayo County Council both addressed the gathering. Councillor Mulroy thanked the businesses present for the employment they create in the region, and Peter Hynes spoke of the indomitable spirit of businesses in the county, and of remembering the late Neill O’Neill with a smile.
Frank Salmon, CEO of CMS Distribution, made the keynote address.  He shared his audacious dream of growing his business through acquisitions and organic growth, by 15% per year for the next 5 years, to make it into a €1 billion business by 2024.

Outstanding Contribution Award

The Neill O’Neill Outstanding Contribution to Business Award was presented to Sean Kenna, CEO of CBE.

Aoife O’Neill, Patrick Broderick and Sean Kenna – image courtesy of CBE

Fireside Chat

John Magee of Mayo’s Local Enterprise Board rounded off the evening with a fireside chat with guest panelists, Maureen Walsh, Managing Director of DeCare Dental Insurance, Sean Kenna, Managing Director of CBE, and Frank Salmon. They all spoke of the importance of people to the success of their businesses.

L to R: Maureen Walsh, DeCare Dental, John Magee, Local Enterprise Office, Sean Kenna, CBE, Frank Salmon, CMS Distribution – image courtesy of

Huge Thanks

Speaking of the importance of people, huge thanks are due to all of the team at TruckScience for making it possible for us to win this award.  As the old Irish proverb goes, “Ní neart go cur le chéile.” – There is no strength without unity.

Thanks too to Anokha Learning, for sponsoring The Best Technology Business Award, and to the local Chambers of Commerce, for putting together such a memorable event.

Handles and Hashtags

The Mayo Business Awards were live-streamed on Facebook.  For this and more social media coverage, check out @MayoBusinessAwards and ‪#‎MayoBiz2019‬ on Facebook, and @mayobizawards and #mayobizawards on Twitter.


The Mayo Business Awards 2019 were launched at the McWilliam Park Hotel in September.

from left to right: John Magee, Head of Enterprise, LEO Mayo; Elaine Moyles, LEO Mayo; Anne Cunnane, Ballyhaunis Chamber of Commerce; Brian Moran, Westport Chamber of Commerce; Mags Martin, Ballina Chamber of Commerce; Patrick Broderick, President of the Claremorris Chamber of Commerce; Geraldine Horkan, Westport Chamber of Commerce; Stephanie Columbani, Westport Chamber of Commerce, Sylvester Jennings, Castlebar Chamber of Commerce


Try TruckScience for free

No credit card required